Display: If you liked Diary of a Wimpy Kid…

DOAWK Display 2

If you liked Diary of a Wimpy Kid Display

“What should I read if I liked Diary of a Wimpy Kid?” is a question school and children’s librarians often hear.

DOAWK Display titles

There are plenty of answers one can give. “What about Big Nate, Timmy Failure, or Dork Diaries?” But sometimes, pre-empting these questions is so much fun and reaches kids who you didn’t even know loved the series.

This Diary of a Wimpy Kid display was an absolute hit, especially with the grade 5 and 6 classes. The day it was completed almost all of the suggested titles were loaned.

The Long Haul

The most popular titles included the Timmy Failure books, My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish series, and of course The Long Haul, book 9 in the DoaWK series. It is easy to add new titles to the display as the collection is expanded. I’m thinking the latest addition of The Strange Case of Origami Yoda is going to be a big hit – one that might deserve its own display…

Resources

Giant Greg Heffley GIANT GREG HEFFLEY

The students love this life-sized Greg. I used the largest image of Greg that I could find, opened it in a Word document, copied it four times and then cropped it so the first image only displayed his head, the second his shoulders and so on. I then printed Greg on A3 paper and laminated each piece.

THE FONT

After scouring a few web pages I found the closest font to that used in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books is Coop Forged, which you can find on font-db.

DOAWK Display THE BORDER AND BACKGROUND

Green A4 cardboard stuck together made the perfect border for this display. A few squares of darker green glued strategically down the left side make this border look like one of the DoaWK covers. Any colour could be used. The display’s background is a large sheet of white paper with blue lines, to indicate notepaper.

THE TAGS

Each cover had a tag stating the title or series, author and location of the book. I was really surprised by how useful these tags became. I had students asking me for help to find the book by referencing its location and plenty of other students were happy to show their friends how it all worked. Strange Case of Origami Yoda

THE BOOKS

So what books were on the display? Here are the titles so far:

Stick Dog by Tom Watson

Origami Yoda series by Tom Angleberger

My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish series by Mo O’Hara

Cartboy by L.A Campbell

Smile, and Sisters by Raina Telegmeier

My Life and Other Stuff That Went Wrong by Tristan Bancks

My Life as a Book by Janet Tashjian

Charlie Joe Jackson series by Tommy Greenwald

NERDS: National Espionage, Rescue and Defense Society by Michael Buckley

Ratburger and other titles by David Walliams

Ellie McDoodle Diaries by Ruth McNally Barshaw

Big Nate by Lincoln Peirce

Dork Diaries by Rachel Renee Russell

Middle School by James Patterson

Dear Dumb Diary by Jim Benton

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “Display: If you liked Diary of a Wimpy Kid…

  1. You have such cool displays!! The Strange Case of Origami Yoda is already super popular in my library. I definitely see it as another big hit. But then again, the kids are always asking for Star Wars books. I will be checking out the books on this list I don’t recognize!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s